Programming AMD Am28F256A with S4 - no luck

General topics relating to devices and programming
tingo
Posts: 3
Joined: 01 Nov 2013 21:15
Location: Oslo, Norway

Programming AMD Am28F256A with S4 - no luck

Postby tingo » 01 Nov 2013 22:13

I am trying to program an Am28F256A (AMD) in my S4.
The S4 has library 2.93:

Code: Select all

DATAMAN S4 LIB 2.93 512K BYTES RAM
and I selected AMD AM28F256 as the device

Code: Select all

>CP >SELECT DEVICE AMD 28F256 12.00V Burn pin 1 10us No Overprog Alg 66, Ref 011A
The EEPROM checks out:

Code: Select all

>PRETEST 28F256 00000-07FFF=00000 WILL BURN
but when I try to write it it fails:

Code: Select all

>BURN AMD 28F256 12.00V Burn pin 1 00000-07FFF=00000 FAILED AT 00001 00001 RAM=E2 ROM=00
Is it not possible to burn an AMD Am28F256A with the S4?
Torfinn

Dataman (Neil Parker)
Posts: 931
Joined: 10 Nov 2011 09:51

Re: Programming AMD Am28F256A with S4 - no luck

Postby Dataman (Neil Parker) » 05 Nov 2013 10:17

Hello Tingo,

I think the problem is that your device is not blank. The TEST operation reports WILL BURN which is a bit ambigious, what it means is that the device appears to be good and can be programmed. If the device was in fact blank the TEST operation will report BLANK DEVICE.

Please erase your target device and repeat the same steps as before, you should be able to program the device correctly.

Best regards

Neil Parker
Dataman Programmers

tingo
Posts: 3
Joined: 01 Nov 2013 21:15
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Programming AMD Am28F256A with S4 - no luck

Postby tingo » 05 Nov 2013 19:48

I had ERASEd the device first, but I can try again.
First I dump a few bytes:

Code: Select all

>DUMP 28F256 00000,50 00000 C3 00 00 13 10 07 FF FF C..... 00008 C3 7B 11 AE 0C BC 0C FF C{...<. 00010 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  00018 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  00020 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  00028 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  00030 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  00038 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  00040 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  00048 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  >DUMP 28F256 00050,50 00050 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  00058 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  00060 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  00068 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  00070 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  00078 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  00080 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  00088 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  00090 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  00098 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
Not completely blank. Erase it (again):

Code: Select all

>ERASE AMD 28F256 12.00V Burn pin 1 Writing All Zeros Erasing Done.
Dump again, just to be on the safe side:

Code: Select all

>DUMP 00000,50 00000 C3 E2 00 13 10 07 FF FF Cb.... 00008 C3 7B 11 AE 0C BC 0C FF C{...<. 00010 C3 1C 03 FF FF FF FF FF C.. 00018 C3 DA 02 FF FF FF FF FF CZ. 00020 C3 47 2B FF FF FF FF FF CG+ 00028 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  00030 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  00038 C3 EE 33 52 4F 4D 20 76 Cn3ROM v 00040 35 2E 34 20 44 61 74 65 5.4 Date 00048 64 3A 20 30 38 20 4F 63 d: 08 Oc >DUMP 00050,50 00050 74 20 32 30 31 33 00 44 t 2013.D 00058 2D 58 20 44 65 73 69 67 -X Desig 00060 6E 73 20 50 74 79 20 4C ns Pty L 00068 74 64 2C 20 50 65 72 74 td, Pert 00070 68 20 41 75 73 74 72 61 h Austra 00078 6C 69 61 00 ED 57 67 ED lia.mWgm 00080 38 33 C6 04 6F 7C B5 C9 83F.o|5I 00088 F3 21 01 00 ED 21 0F ED s!..m!.m 00090 29 0E ED 21 0D ED 29 0C ).m!.m). 00098 ED 38 10 F6 11 ED 39 10 m8.v.m9.
That doesn't look right to me. Now, what does the TEST command give?

Code: Select all

>PRETEST 28F256 00000-07FFF=00000 BLANK ROM
It claims it is blank? Hmm, let's see if the dump command agrees:

Code: Select all

>DUMP 00000,50 00000 C3 E2 00 13 10 07 FF FF Cb.... 00008 C3 7B 11 AE 0C BC 0C FF C{...<. 00010 C3 1C 03 FF FF FF FF FF C.. 00018 C3 DA 02 FF FF FF FF FF CZ. 00020 C3 47 2B FF FF FF FF FF CG+ 00028 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  00030 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF  00038 C3 EE 33 52 4F 4D 20 76 Cn3ROM v 00040 35 2E 34 20 44 61 74 65 5.4 Date 00048 64 3A 20 30 38 20 4F 63 d: 08 Oc >DUMP 00050,50 00050 74 20 32 30 31 33 00 44 t 2013.D 00058 2D 58 20 44 65 73 69 67 -X Desig 00060 6E 73 20 50 74 79 20 4C ns Pty L 00068 74 64 2C 20 50 65 72 74 td, Pert 00070 68 20 41 75 73 74 72 61 h Austra 00078 6C 69 61 00 ED 57 67 ED lia.mWgm 00080 38 33 C6 04 6F 7C B5 C9 83F.o|5I 00088 F3 21 01 00 ED 21 0F ED s!..m!.m 00090 29 0E ED 21 0D ED 29 0C ).m!.m). 00098 ED 38 10 F6 11 ED 39 10 m8.v.m9.
I haven't got a clue what is going on here.
Is there a difference between the Am28256 (which the S4 supports) and the Am28F256A (the chip I have).
Unfortunately, I have only this chip, so I can't try another one.
Torfinn

tingo
Posts: 3
Joined: 01 Nov 2013 21:15
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Programming AMD Am28F256A with S4 - no luck

Postby tingo » 05 Nov 2013 20:08

Ok, never mind my previous post, I misread the manual. The terminal DUmp command works on the RAM of the S4, not directly on the device in the ZIF socket. My fault, sorry.
Anyway after a LOad and DUmp to verify that the device was indeed blank, I tried programming it again:

Code: Select all

>BURN AMD 28F256 12.00V Burn pin 1 00000-07FFF=00000 SAME
and it worked. So the advice was correct - the device wasn't blank the first time I tried to program it. Perhaps it needed an extra round of erasing. Anyway, problem solved, sorry for the noise. And thanks for the help.
Torfinn


Return to “Devices and Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests