6116 ram test on the dataman 40pro

Topics related to the Dataman 40Pro
andrew96
Posts: 14
Joined: 18 May 2012 22:12

6116 ram test on the dataman 40pro

Postby andrew96 » 20 Sep 2012 10:17

Hello Neil
I have made some adaptors from FRAM to replace 6116 chips, now on my ABI chipmaster using the RAM test they are fine, pass great, but when using the 40pro it fails, now looking into this i have found a difference in the way the chip enable is handled.

so my thinkings are the 40 pro uses the CE line as in the bottom picture below for 6116 testing, is that correct?

If CE is as in the top picture that is the correct access for the fram which i believe the ABI chipmaster uses as that reads/writes fine in 6116 mode

I am hoping you can clear this up for me, many thanks again
Andrew

ram strobe.JPG
Last edited by andrew96 on 01 Oct 2012 20:48, edited 1 time in total.

Dataman (Neil Parker)
Posts: 835
Joined: 10 Nov 2011 09:51

Re: 6116 ram test on the dataman 40pro

Postby Dataman (Neil Parker) » 24 Sep 2012 08:18

Hello andrew69,

I need a bit more information about the situation first. What sRAM device are you testing and what is the error that you are seeing? (please provide a log from your testing). It would also be a good idea to provide the selftest plus result on your programmer.

Regards
Neil Parker
Dataman Programmers

andrew96
Posts: 14
Joined: 18 May 2012 22:12

Re: 6116 ram test on the dataman 40pro

Postby andrew96 » 01 Oct 2012 17:00

Hi Neil

Many thanks for your reply, here is my findings so far.

I am using a Ramtron FM16W08-SG soic28 device on a pcb board to make it dip24 6116 compatable, basicly to become a 6116 sram non volitile device.The FM16W08-SG is a 70ns device so is definately quick enough for the job.

I am trying to use the generic ram 6116(5v) ram test. this throws up errors right away!

It appears not to be working right and wondered if it was because of the CE mentioned in my first post?
As I have said the ABI chipmaster checks the same chip and all is well and passes it fine as a 6116 ram no problems, and in circuit replacing a 6116 it is fine. I have tried the trick of placing a 100nf capacitor between pins 12 and 24 (0v and 5V) and no difference

the log from the dataman is below. I get a different value for device data every time I do the test, but as below it is the same value in every location. I have done the selftest plus and all is well, log of that is after, and a pic of the abi chipmaster passing the fram device as 6116

L0845: Selected device: Generic-RAM 6116(5V).
L0846: Buffer checksum in range of [0h..7FFh]: 0003FB12h - Byte sum (x8)
L0847:
L0848: >> 01.10.2012, 19:55:25
L0849: ------------------------------------
L0850: ==== Device operation options ====
L0851: ------------------------------------
L0852: - Addresses
L0853: Device start: 0000000000
L0854: Device end: 00000007FF
L0855: Buffer start: 0000000000
L0856: - Insertion test and/or ID check
L0857: Insertion test: Disable
L0858:
L0859: >> 01.10.2012, 19:55:27
L0860: Static RAM test ...
L0861: Drivers test ...
L0862: (test of D0..D7 signals reaction on CE\ and OE\)
L0863: Write/read test (using random data) ...
L0864: Verifying RAM with buffer - error!
L0865:
L0866: Verify - error(s)
L0867:
L0868: ADDRESS DEVICE BUFFER | ADDRESS DEVICE BUFFER | ADDRESS DEVICE BUFFER
L0869: ------------------------|-------------------------|------------------------
L0870: 00000000 66 4A | 0000000F 66 18 | 0000001E 66 81
L0871: 00000001 66 FF | 00000010 66 29 | 0000001F 66 AB
L0872: 00000002 66 E2 | 00000011 66 16 | 00000020 66 DC
L0873: 00000003 66 8A | 00000012 66 BB | 00000021 66 54
L0874: 00000004 66 A0 | 00000013 66 AD | 00000022 66 B5
L0875: 00000005 66 1C | 00000014 66 4C | 00000023 66 85
L0876: 00000006 66 D3 | 00000015 66 93 | 00000024 66 F7
L0877: 00000007 66 4A | 00000016 66 80 | 00000025 66 9B
L0878: 00000008 66 83 | 00000017 66 AB | 00000026 66 2A
L0879: 00000009 66 5B | 00000018 66 52 | 00000027 66 F8
L0880: 0000000A 66 F5 | 00000019 66 FD | 00000028 66 0A
L0881: 0000000B 66 D2 | 0000001A 66 00 | 00000029 66 E2
L0882: 0000000C 66 59 | 0000001B 66 02 | 0000002A 66 1F
L0883: 0000000D 66 B6 | 0000001C 66 AE | 0000002B 66 9E
L0884: 0000000E 66 F0 | 0000001D 66 1B | 0000002C 66 86
L0885:
L0886: Elapsed time: 0:00:01.7


L0888: 01.10.2012 19:55:30 Selftest plus operation start
L0889:
L0890: WELCOME in enhanced selftest procedure for programmer Dataman-40Pro
L0891:
L0892: 01.10.2012 18:03:24 pg4uw, 2.88/04.2012 selftest plus
L0893: Programmer: Dataman-40Pro (s/n:233-02187)
L0894: Loop no.: 1 Elapsed time: 0:00:00
L0895:
L0896: Communication test ............ OK 0:00:00.1
L0897: RAM test ...................... OK 0:00:01.5
L0898: EEPROM test ................... OK 0:00:00.1
L0899: Supplies and DAC test ......... OK 0:00:03.9
L0900: Pindriver (TTL) test .......... OK 0:00:02.2
L0901: Pindriver (GND/Analog) test ... OK 0:00:02.2
L0902:
L0903:
L0904: Selftest successful


IMG_0429a.jpg

Dataman (Neil Parker)
Posts: 835
Joined: 10 Nov 2011 09:51

Re: 6116 ram test on the dataman 40pro

Postby Dataman (Neil Parker) » 05 Oct 2012 10:37

Hello andrew96,

So you have made a module yourself for simulation of 6116 SRAMs and have carried out testing of this module using the ABI chipmaster programmer and all seems to be O.K.

The module is made on the basis of the Ramtron FM16W08-SG which is a Ferroelectric Nonvolatile RAM i.e. a device with different dynamic parameters than a 6116 static RAM.
We don't have any details about static RAM testing on the ABI chipmaster, so the info about successful testing of your module on this programmer is somewhat irrelevant for us.
What I can say is that we support 6116 SRAM testing had have done for many years. We have never received any complaints from our customers related to this testing algorithm. So we are sure our testing algorithm is O.K. and we will not modify it.

I hope this answers your question.

Regards
Neil Parker
Dataman Programmers

andrew96
Posts: 14
Joined: 18 May 2012 22:12

Re: 6116 ram test on the dataman 40pro

Postby andrew96 » 05 Oct 2012 12:28

cheers thanks, I will continue to use the ABI chipmaster for my testing. My boards work perfectly when put in place of 6116 ram in the real world with no problems at all. I really dont see why the dataman 40 shows these problems when everything else I try is happy with them being 6116 devices as planned. My board is only a pin to pin adaptor, nothing special at all! the only difference in the specification I can find is the way the CE pin is handled between fero ram and ram hence my first post.

Andrew

Dataman (Neil Parker)
Posts: 835
Joined: 10 Nov 2011 09:51

Re: 6116 ram test on the dataman 40pro

Postby Dataman (Neil Parker) » 11 Oct 2012 08:24

Hello andrew96,

We have modified our test procedure for the 6116 in accordance with your specific requirement.

Please download, install and try the latest OnDemand software:
URL: http://www.dataman.com/downloads/dl/file/id/202/dataman_control_beta_software.zip
Version: 2.92d/10.2012

If you have any questions, please contact me.

Regards
Neil Parker
Dataman Programmers


Return to “Dataman 40Pro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest