Can't program certain 2732A roms

Topics related to the Dataman 40Pro
mypinballs
Posts: 10
Joined: 09 Sep 2020 08:12

Can't program certain 2732A roms

Postby mypinballs » 09 Sep 2020 09:44

Posting a message about this as i've been struggling with this issue for years and only solution seems to be to use a different type of rom. Error is always the same. Must have tried hundreds of different M2732A roms so that cant be it.

Programming device: STMicroelectronics M2732A.
L0188: Buffer checksum in range of "Program Memory" [0h..FFFh]: 0007D38Eh - Byte sum (x8), Straight
L0189: Device insertion test ...
L0190: Device blank checking ...
L0191: Programming device ...
L0192: Communication error! (V:0/P:00/HW:00/EC:08/)
L0193: Elapsed time: 0:00:24.5

I have the full log error download attached to.

To be honest it doing my nut in as i need to program lots of roms daily and this is slowing things down massively.

Jim
Attachments
PG4UW_LOG_windows_content_578-03481.zip
(232.42 KiB) Downloaded 32 times

Dataman (Neil Parker)
Posts: 835
Joined: 10 Nov 2011 09:51

Re: Can't program certain 2732A roms

Postby Dataman (Neil Parker) » 09 Sep 2020 11:48

Hello Jim,

Can you run the Selftest... from the Programmer menu using the diagnostic pod included with the programmer when purchased and let me know the result.

Looking at our software the algorithm for the ST 2731A was modified in v3.42 so if you can get the latest version running you may find the situation will improve.

Please let me know how you get on.

Best regards,


Neil Parker
Dataman Programmers

mypinballs
Posts: 10
Joined: 09 Sep 2020 08:12

Re: Can't program certain 2732A roms

Postby mypinballs » 09 Sep 2020 15:18

i was hoping with the software upgrade that it may solve it hence the other qu. Ran the diagnostic with pod self test. Results below

L0391: Communication test ............ OK 0:00:00.3
L0392: RAM test ...................... OK 0:00:01.5
L0393: EEPROM test ................... OK 0:00:00.9
L0394: Supplies and DAC test ......... OK 0:00:03.6
L0395: Pindriver (TTL) test .......... OK 0:00:05.6
L0396: Pindriver (GND/Analog) test ... OK 0:00:05.9
L0397:
L0398:
L0399: Selftest with Diagnostic pod successful.

Dataman (Neil Parker)
Posts: 835
Joined: 10 Nov 2011 09:51

Re: Can't program certain 2732A roms

Postby Dataman (Neil Parker) » 09 Sep 2020 15:26

Hello Jim,

The Selftest... result reveals that the programmers hardware is OK. Was this run on the latest software version v3.60? If it was, then please try programming the chip again and generating a new problem report and send it to support@dataman.com for analysis.

Best regards,


Neil Parker
Dataman Programmers

mypinballs
Posts: 10
Joined: 09 Sep 2020 08:12

Re: Can't program certain 2732A roms

Postby mypinballs » 09 Sep 2020 15:27

Thanks for the reply, but i'm still stuck on v3.34 at the mo. See other thread :) Sorry!

mypinballs
Posts: 10
Joined: 09 Sep 2020 08:12

Re: Can't program certain 2732A roms

Postby mypinballs » 10 Sep 2020 14:44

Ok so i got past the software update issue and am running Version 3.60z09/09.2020 ok now but the issue with these damn 2732A roms is still there. :(

attached the new system log file
Attachments
PG4UW_LOG_windows_content_578-03481.zip
(236.78 KiB) Downloaded 31 times


Return to “Dataman 40Pro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest