Dataman S3 dead after 1 year w/o battery pack

Topics related to the Dataman S3
Guest
Posts: 723
Joined: 09 Nov 2011 17:16

Dataman S3 dead after 1 year w/o battery pack

Postby Guest » 10 Nov 2011 15:48

Hi !

My original battery pack dead 1 year ago, so i removed from the unit.
Today i wanted to use my S3 and i've build a new battery pack with AA cells, 1.2volt, rechargeable batteries.
Even with the new batteries the unit won't turn on, don't know why,when i've last used it worked 100%...
There is another internal battery on the s3 that may have discharged ??
How many volts must give the external charger ? mine is 3.2volt

David

(i've no money to buy a new device,i really need to repair this)

Dataman (Neil Parker)
Posts: 804
Joined: 10 Nov 2011 09:51

Re: Dataman S3 dead after 1 year w/o battery pack

Postby Dataman (Neil Parker) » 10 Nov 2011 15:49

David,

There is only the one battery pack in the S3. It should be supplying ~9V when fully charged.

The charger should have an output of ~13V a.c. with no load.

You can try and power the S3 from an external bench supply. Connect it up to the battery terminals and set it to about 9.2V d.c. and see if you can get the unit to power up.

Let me know how you get on.

Neil

Guest
Posts: 723
Joined: 09 Nov 2011 17:16

Re: Dataman S3 dead after 1 year w/o battery pack

Postby Guest » 10 Nov 2011 15:49

Hi ! Thanks for reply.

Ok, tried with an external power supply.. and don't know why but my S3 sometime turn on, then i switch off and don't work more..
I measured the voltage on the input pin of the 5v regulators, only one receive the signal from the battery pack.
There is a mosfet IRFD9123, on the gate and source i measure 9v from the battery, on the drain i measure nothing... it is correct or it is damaged ? without this signal the 5v regulator don't work,and so the others components linked to this mosfet. (can i remove the mosfet and make a bridge ?)

My tests :
- Vcc on the microprocessor, ok, 5v
- Vcc on battery terminals, ok
- Vcc on the continuosly powered regulator,ok, 5v on output pin
- Vcc on switch, ok
- From the charger 13.4 volt (with the charger and without the battery pack,the unit won't work)

- Vcc on LCD display,not ok, 0volt
- " " on dc-dc converter,0volt
- In mosfet, S & G = 9volt, D = 0volt

Sorry for my bad english..hope you understand my explication..

Thanks for your help !
David

Dataman (Neil Parker)
Posts: 804
Joined: 10 Nov 2011 09:51

Re: Dataman S3 dead after 1 year w/o battery pack

Postby Dataman (Neil Parker) » 10 Nov 2011 15:49

David,

It does sound like the MOSFET or the dc-dc converter has failed.

Unfortunately we no longer support the S3 due to its age. We also no longer have any of the components for the product.

I can only suggest that you find replacements for the above components and try replacing them.

I am afraid that I cannot be of further assistance.

Neil

Guest
Posts: 723
Joined: 09 Nov 2011 17:16

Re: Dataman S3 dead after 1 year w/o battery pack

Postby Guest » 10 Nov 2011 15:49

Hi Neil, thanks for your reply.

No problem for the repair,i'll try myself if i found the components.

Ehmm..maybe i know the answer..but.. you don't give the schematic for this old,unsupported device ? It can help me finding the problem.

Another question (last) : it is possible that if the temperature sensor fail, the S3 won't work ? or it's independent ? Sometime whem i touch the three temp.sensors the S3 turn on, but i don't know if is a casualty or not.

(still sorry for my bad english)

Thanks for your help,and my best compliments for your products !
David

Dataman (Neil Parker)
Posts: 804
Joined: 10 Nov 2011 09:51

Re: Dataman S3 dead after 1 year w/o battery pack

Postby Dataman (Neil Parker) » 10 Nov 2011 15:49

Hi David,

Yes, I am afraid that is the company policy not to release design details of any of our products new or obsolete.

If the temperature sensors are faulty the S3 will not operate. Their primary use is to detect a 5 degree increase in temperature of the battery pack. But if the unit is experiencing extreme heat or cold then it also will not power up.

Thanks

Neil

Guest
Posts: 723
Joined: 09 Nov 2011 17:16

Re: Dataman S3 dead after 1 year w/o battery pack

Postby Guest » 10 Nov 2011 15:50

Hi,

i understand your policy.
It's possible just to know what type of components is the temp. sensors ? i only see "AG G" and found nothing on the net.

David

Guest
Posts: 723
Joined: 09 Nov 2011 17:16

Re: Dataman S3 dead after 1 year w/o battery pack

Postby Guest » 10 Nov 2011 15:50

Hi Neil,

i found the main problem : a damaged trimmer (lcd contrast). Changed with a resistance and know it work.
There is another problem, sometime when i switch on the unit don't work, but if i press reset all is ok, i think is a software problem..

Thanks for your help until now, and have a good day.

David
Switzerland

Guest
Posts: 723
Joined: 09 Nov 2011 17:16

Re: Dataman S3 dead after 1 year w/o battery pack

Postby Guest » 10 Nov 2011 15:50

Hi!

Why does my Dataman S3 give the code 0177 and then hang when i try to download code?

I have Help ROM version 2.5

/Peter

Dataman (Neil Parker)
Posts: 804
Joined: 10 Nov 2011 09:51

Re: Dataman S3 dead after 1 year w/o battery pack

Postby Dataman (Neil Parker) » 10 Nov 2011 15:50

Hi Peter,

I would guess that the code means there is a problem somewhere. Unfortunatley due to the age of the S3 unit we no longer support or repair them.

Neil


Return to “Dataman S3”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest