What are the 1000 chips that are higher volatage current?

Topics related to the Dataman 48Pro2C
mikes112112
Posts: 1
Joined: 02 Jun 2022 16:17

What are the 1000 chips that are higher volatage current?

Postby mikes112112 » 02 Jun 2022 16:33

Which are the 1000 chips that seperate the Dataman 48Pro2C and the 48Pro2 in terms of programmability? Is it worth the extra cost to get the 48Pro2?

Dataman (Neil Parker)
Posts: 883
Joined: 10 Nov 2011 09:51

Re: What are the 1000 chips that are higher volatage current?

Postby Dataman (Neil Parker) » 10 Jun 2022 11:23

Hello mikes112112,

The 48Pro2C has support for roughly 1,400 devices missing. These are primarily high current/voltage legacy devices and include bipolar devices (PROMs and PLDs), EPROMs with programming voltage 21V and above, 2708 EPROMs, MCS48 series microcontrollers and 8751/8752 microcontrollers with programming voltage 21V and above. The parallel port is present but disabled.

It is possible to upgrade your 48Pro2C to a full spec. 48Pro2 at a later date using the XPro2 upgrade.

If you have you further questions please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards,

Neil Parker
Dataman Programmers

Brad Raedel
Posts: 1
Joined: 27 Jun 2022 13:43

Re: What are the 1000 chips that are higher volatage current?

Postby Brad Raedel » 27 Jun 2022 13:58

I too am interested in upgrading my Pro2C to the Pro2, primarily for programming some older BiPolar devices (used in 1980's Arcade games I repair). I noticed there is a PSU Upgrade for the Pro2 (https://www.dataman.com/psu-upgrade-for ... 8pro2.html), is this included in the ~$355 dongle upgrade? If not, will the devices that require the higher current just fail with the original supply, or will they be locked out of the device selection?

Thanks,
Brad

Dataman (Neil Parker)
Posts: 883
Joined: 10 Nov 2011 09:51

Re: What are the 1000 chips that are higher volatage current?

Postby Dataman (Neil Parker) » 29 Jun 2022 10:16

Hello Brad Raedel,

The "XPro2 Upgrade for Dataman 48Pro2C" and the upgraded PSU are two separate things. All of the supported devices will be present in the software after the XPro2 upgrade has been installed. You will be able to select the devices and attempt to program them. If this is not successful then the next step would be to purchase the upgraded PSU.

I hope this helps. If you have nay further questions, please contact me.

Best regards,

Neil Parker
Dataman Programmers


Return to “Dataman 48Pro2C”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest